2012 J Eddis Linton Awards for excellence in RIM

Named after J Eddis Linton, one of the founders of RIM Professionals Australasia, the J Eddis Linton Awards, celebrate his outstanding contribution to records management across three categories, individual, group and student.

Information Proficiency Most Outstanding Individual

This category is aimed at those RIM Professionals Australasia members who have achieved excellence in records and information management & contributed highly to the profession.  This award can be self nominated or nominated by an independent person or group.

 WINNER           Stephen Clarke,   NZ

 About the winner:

Stephen has made a significant and unique contribution to the codification of best practice and in the innovation of new RIM standards that extends the boundaries of common practice at a global level.

Stephen has contributed to many standards that provide the international environment for digital recordkeeping, e.g. as a member of the Experts’ Review Group for MoReq2 and by contributing to ADRI and CAARA publications.  Stephen is the first RIM professional to have achieved the outstanding distinction of leading the development and publication of four ISO RIM standards in the same financial year (2010-11). The ISO process favours the development of standards where they are considered to contain work that is both relevant and useful to the international community and is most definitely a measure of competency and value.

Stephen has been an active and enthusiastic champion of RIM and has taken a leadership role within the NZ RIM community by instituting initiatives such as the EDRMS Interest Group and serving as a representative on range of professional bodies such as the NZ National Digital Forum Board and Government Information Group.

Ezescan Most Outstanding Group

This category is aimed at those RIM Professionals Australasia members who as a group have achieved excellence in records and information management and contributed highly to the profession.

WINNER      Western Australian University Sector Disposal Authority Working Party

Michelle Lillico (L) and Sue Adams (R)


About the winner:

WAUSDA is made up of 4 individual universities in Western Australia (Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University and The University of WA) who proactively came together to;

  • Develop individual university schedules first
  • Compare them records series by record series
  • Overcome personal agendas and bias
  • Ensure unique records of each university are captured and nothing is left out

 This project was undertaken in 2 phases over 4 years.  The successful outcome of this project is an indicator that the recordkeepers of WA Universities have been able to collaborate, negotiate and apply their knowledge and expertise strategically to achieve improved business performance. The spirit of collaboration and collegiality fostered by this project now has the potential to continue into other collaborative recordkeeping endeavours across the sector.

Student of the Year

This category is awarded to a student who has achieved excellence in educational studies in records and information management. The award is open to both full time and part time students who have completed a dedicated records and information management course in the previous 12 months (July to June).

WINNER                    Deborah Talbot

Deborah Talbot

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.